‘Don’t Worry It Gets Worse’ Is Actually Really Good

https://i1.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/817BJ8fn37L._SL1500_.jpg

My mother surprised me this year on Valentine’s Day with a present: a book, entitled Don’t Worry It Gets Worse. I’m not sure what statement she was trying to make, but it might have something to do with the fact that I’m still someone who can only expect Valentine’s Day presents from her mother. (I love you Mom!)

The book itself, written by witty millennial Alida Nugent,  was more or less just what I needed, though. I laughed most of the way through. Not in the “literally laughing out loud” way but in the sense of that I still found almost everything to be grin-worthy. Nugent unpacks her life in her early twenties with a lot of self-awareness and a big sense of humor.

She was also someone I found eerily relatable.

I mean, she graduated with a liberal arts degree she had no idea how to use, felt much more suited for school than actual life, spent time working as a freelance writer, and lived at home for a significant amount of time after graduation. No similarities there, right?

But the real thing that makes Nugent’s story so relatable is the fact that she owns up to those thought we all try to keep hidden. She has no problem admitting that she is “the sort of person who got stressed out playing Monopoly” and so might not be cut out for real life, or that she often wonders if it might have been better if her parents had crushed a few more of her dreams as a child, or that  she routinely finds “gunk” at the bottom of her vegetable drawer.

Her ability to say thing I instantly recognize, even about experiences I’ve never had, is genius. I highly recommend her to my fellow millennials – along with her blog, The Frenemy, which in true Nugent fashion I will freely admit to not having read yet because who has time for that? Frankly, I’m a little amazed that any of you read my blog, and can only assume it is because you know me and so have an actual reason to care about my life and/or you are extremely bored. (On the other hand, if you are someone who thinks this is the coolest blog ever, you’re in luck! I fully intend to update it more regularly.)

At only 190 pages, Don’t Worry, It Gets Worse is short but sweet and will keep you laughing all the way through.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

