Happy Lammas!

For those of you who don’t know, Lammas (August 1st) is the mid-way point between the summer solstice and the vernal equinox. It is the day that traditionally marked the beginning of the harvest (and the beginning of the end of summer). It’s a time of reflection, of letting go of what had come before, anticipating the fruits of your labor, and being thankful for what you have and will have. In other words, it’s a little bit like the Wiccan Thanksgiving except nobody gets into an argument about politics and vows to never speak to various family members ever again.

I won’t go into the many, many, things I have to be grateful for, but it deserves a mention that This year, I am incredibly grateful to my parents, who, after putting me through four years of school, graciously allowed me to move back into their house until I figure out my life. They are wonderful.

This summer has been wonderful, but it is really the future I’m looking to now. If this is the time when we begin to reap the benefits of all our hard work, I am very, very ready for this to happen. I like to think I’ve been making good use of this summer, working on a novel, editing another, writing for a magazine, and constantly trying to find more work, but so far, success has been limited (have I mentioned how amazingly lucky I am to have parents who can and will support me until then?).

So as summer fades and the harvest begins, my hope is that it will bring with it new opportunities and new horizons. (Right, you also get wishes. Thanksgiving minus family squabbles but plus wishes. Yes I do have all the cool holidays.)

Hoping you all get whatever you are working for in the coming months!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Lammas!

  1. maria hartlein says:

    You are so blessed!!! Your mom and dad are one in a million!! Your dad is so smart and always is so generous to everyone!!We are all proud of you and wish you a lifetime of success and happiness!! You can always get a job but never lose your passion for writing!! I know you and Johanna have a best seller in you!!! Now about those holidays!!!

Leave a Reply

